Samba and Firestarter: Howto

I use samba to share the folder on my Kubuntu machine with the XBOX that I use as media center. After installing Firestarter, I couldn’t access anymore the folder from any computer in my home network, XBOX included. Of course I have enabled the Samba policy in Firestarter (Port: 137-139 445) and my network address (192.168.1.0/24), but still no results.

An explanation of the reason can be found in this thread of the Ubuntu Forum : http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=190542&highlight=samba+windows+unauthorized+access

The solution is rather simple. Open Firestarter, then Edit -> Preferences -> Advanced Option, just remove the check on “Block broadcast from external network”.

Firestarter setting

That’s it. You will be able to run Firestarter and view you Samba share again.

Blogged with Flock

6 Responses to Samba and Firestarter: Howto

  1. thamood says:

    thanx a loootttt man…short and simple…..

  2. cahb says:

    i have a problem with this, i aplly the changes, but not work, and my samba is a pdc, works fine before install firestarter but after not work. please help me
    thanks

  3. Jaymes says:

    I came across this exact problem and couldn’t find a solution for quite awhile. I was messing around in Firestarter and by chance I changed that setting.

    What was happening is when I went to explore the Network in Nautilus (network:///), all I saw was the ‘Windows Network’ icon. Upon opening that, nothing appeared. Very frustrating indeed!

    I checked all the settings through System -> Administration -> Services and Also System -> Administration -> Shared Folders (Ubuntu menus for 7.04) and ensured that I was on the proper Workgroup. Also checked the smb.conf as well.

    Hopefully this will help anyone else that might run into this problem!

    Thanks for the post!

  4. Ttr says:

    Still usefull 2 years later. Thanks.

  5. Joo says:

    Unbelievably simple. I have been struggling with this for so long I can’t believe it was this simple. Definitely still useful years later. Kudos!

  6. Gert says:

    for people like me where this, nor everything mentioned in: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=190542
    worked,

    you might want to try this: after adding to /etc/firestarter/user-pre
    the following line:

    $IPT -A INPUT -i eth0 -d 192.168.0.255 -j ACCEPT

    (replace for correct network interface and local network)

    browsing my Ubuntu server shares from Windows machines worked again…

Leave a Reply

